IESE Professor Honored by Royal Academy

González-Páramo becomes permanent Academy Member

20/05/2015 Madrid

José Manuel González-Páramo
Professor José Manuel González-Páramo at IESE’s conference “Challenges for the Future of Banking,” in London last November / Photo: Iñigo Alcañiz

IESE Professor of Economics, José Manuel González-Páramo, has been inducted into Spain’s Royal Academy of Moral and Political Sciences. Gonzalez-Páramo, who is also Executive Board Director of BBVA, joined the faculty of IESE in 2012. He will be the bearer of the Academy’s medal 22, which was previously held by Dr. José Barea.

An expert in public finance and fiscal systems, González-Páramo holds an MA, an MPhil and a PhD in Economics from Columbia University, as well a doctorate in economics from the Universidad Complutense.

The new academician has worked as an economic adviser in a range of public and private institutions, including the European Commission, the IMF and the World Bank. In addition, he has served as a member of the Governing Council and the Executive Committee of the Bank of Spain.

González-Páramo was a member of the Executive Board and the Governing Council of the European Central Bank from 2004 to 2012. He has served as a member of the Committee on the Global Financial System of the Bank for International Settlements (BIS). He has participated in working groups at the BIS and the OECD.

Currently, he is Executive Board Director of BBVA and Chair of its International Advisory Board. He is also Chairman of European DataWarehouse GmbH, the first European private-sector initiative to respond to the need for high transparency standards in securitization markets.

González-Páramo has written and spoken extensively on financial markets, monetary policy and the economy. He has received numerous awards, including the Charles the Fifth Medal of the German-Spanish Chamber of Commerce (“contribution for a more unified Europe”); Premio Círculo de Empresarios; Honorary member of the Association of Economic News Journalists; and Doctor Honoris Causa (University of Malaga).