Xavier Vives to Help Decide the Future of European Research

One of The Seven Top Scientists To Propose ERC's Members

04/06/2014 Barcelona

Prof. Xavier Vives

IESE Prof. of Economics and Financial Management Xavier Vives has been appointed as one of the seven members of the Identification Committee, which will identify the future members of the European Research Council’s (ERC) governing body. The main goal of the ERC is to encourage high-quality research in Europe through competitive funding.

A mix of Europe’s top “brains” make up this Identification Committee, which is in charge of maintaining the ERC’s reputation for excellence. “We can only pick the best with the best!" says European Commissioner for Research, Innovation and Science Máire Geoghegan-Quinn.

This Committee will propose a list of candidates to preplace the current ERC Scientific Council members in 2015, as well as maintain a pool of candidates for future appointments. Moreover, it will prepare a “Statement of Methodology” and a final report with its recommendations to be delivered to the European Commission, the European Parliament and the European Union Council by the end of October 2014.

An Extense Career in Research

Vives is an expert in the fields of industrial organization and regulation, the economics of information, banking and financial economics. Among other positions, he is Research Fellow of CESifo (Munich), and was member of its European Economic Advisory Group from 2001 to 2011, Research Fellow of the London Center for Economic Policy Research; Fellow of the Econometric Society since 1992 and elected member of its Council in 2006-2008, of the European Economic Association since 2004 and elected member of its Council in 1991-1995; and Research Associate of the European Corporate Governance Institute.

In 2008 he received a European Research Council Advanced Grant and in 2011 he was appointed Special Advisor to the vice president of the European Commission and Commissioner for Competition, Joaquín Almunia.

Vives currently holds the Abertis Chair of Regulation, Competition and Public Policy and is the academic director of IESE’s Public-Private Research Center.